The Valley Chronicle - Assemblymember Seyarto Selects Ruth Atkins as the 67th

Assemblymember Seyarto Selects Ruth Atkins as the 67th District Woman of the Year

 · 2 min read

LAKE ELSINORE, CA – Assemblymember Kelly Seyarto (R-Murrieta) is proud to honor Ruth Atkins as  the 2022 Woman of the Year for the 67th Assembly District.  Every March, in celebration of Women’s History Month, the California Legislative Women’s Caucus  invites State Assemblymembers to select an outstanding woman from their district to recognize her  significant contributions to her community.   “Ms. Atkins has been a mainstay in Lake Elsinore for nearly 30 years, working tirelessly to ensure  the region maintains its historical significance,” said Assemblymember Seyarto. “It is my privilege to  be given this opportunity to highlight her hard work and accomplishments and to thank her for her  public service. She truly embodies service above self.”   Ruth Atkins moved to the Lake Elsinore Valley in the early 1990s and immediately immersed herself  in civic organizations, including the Lake Elsinore Historical Society, serving as a member of the  board and later as Board President, a title she held for an unprecedented length of time.   She was appointed to the Riverside County Historical Commission and has been a member of the  Clean Extreme Committee, the Luiseño Chapter of the National Society Daughters of the American  Revolution for the designation of Historic Buildings, and the Lake Elsinore Chamber of Commerce,  from which she received two awards: Citizen of the Year (2002) and the John Packman Award  (2005).   Ruth is always eager and willing to share important historical information about the City of Lake  Elsinore and its many landmarks and is widely recognized as one of the most knowledgeable people  in the region.   She will be formally honored by Assemblymember Kelly Seyarto at a community reception at the  Lake Elsinore Historical Society Museum, where she will be presented with an Assembly Resolution  and award from the California Legislative Women’s Caucus.